Calls for international programmes for youth

Next deadline

23/02/2017 Grants

Erasmus+ Jean Monnet Chairs


This is an EU grant for a teaching post with a specialisation in European Union studies for university professors or senior lecturers. Only one professor may hold the Chair and must provide a minimum of 90 teaching hours per academic year. Teaching hours are taken to include direct contact hours in the context of group lectures, seminars, tutorials and may include any of them in a distance learning format but do not include individual instruction and/or supervision. Jean Monnet Chairs are mentors and advisors to the next generation of teachers and researchers. They also provide in-depth guidance to future professionals about the European aspect of particular subjects.
Jean Monnet Chairs must take one of the following activities:
- deepen teaching in European Union studies embodied in an official curriculum of a higher education institution;
- conduct, monitor and supervise research on EU subjects, also for other educational levels such as teacher training and compulsory education;
- provide in-depth teaching on European Union matters for future professionals in fields which are in increasing demand on the labour market;
- encourage, advise and mentor the young generation of teachers and researchers in European Union studies subject areas;
- organise activities (conferences, seminars/webinars, workshops, etc.) targeting to policy makers at local, regional and national level as well as to civil society;
- provide teaching/lectures to students from other departments (e.g. architecture, medicine, etc) to better prepare them for their future professional life.

Higher education institutions (HEI) have the role of supporting  Jean Monnet Chair holders in their teaching, research and reflection activities, allowing the widest possible range of curricula to benefit from the courses and recognise the teaching activities.

The project should last three years.
The maximum grant that can be awarded is 50 000 EUR. This represents the maximum of 75% of the total cost of the Jean Monnet Chair.

Jean Monnet Chair holders must be permanent staff members at the applicant institution and have the rank of professor/senior lecturer. They may not be a "visiting professor" at the HEI applying for the grant.

Applications must be submitted by a HEIs established in any Programme Country:
- 28 Member States of the European Union;
- EFTA/EEA countries: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway;
- EU candidate countries: Turkey, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia;
in any Country in the world.

Applicants should submit applications to the Education, Audiovisual, and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA) by 23 February 2017, 12 pm CET, for projects starting as of 1 September of the same year.

HEIs established in Programme Countries must hold a valid Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE).

Higher Education Institutions should read the Erasmus+ Programme Guide.

For further support they should contact the National Agency in their country.

Individuals seeking to apply should contact their educational establishment.

Find out more:


EACEA Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency
B-1049 Brussels
+32 22991111