Calls for international programmes for youth


Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2017


Launched by the European Commission, the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2017 rewards outstanding contributions made by journalists reporting on development and poverty eradication as well as inspiring people to improve lives in their own communities.

Launched with the hashtag #TellMyStory professional and amateur journalists will have to upload their own original journalistic work-either individually or, for jointly authored or produced items, as a group. A piece can be submitted together with up to ten associated participants. The entire application of this news item with associated participants will be considered as one entry.

This year's competition will include a "Special Prize on Freedom of Religion or Belief outside Europe" covering inspiring stories and initiatives promoting freedom and respect for religious diversity and inter-religious cooperation. 

Entries must address one of the following themes:
- Development and Poverty Eradication,
- Promoting Freedom of Religion or Belief outside the European Union.
For both themes, opinion articles are not eligible.
Only one item or one extract from a series of journalistic works (i.e. one article or one radio/TV piece) can be entered.

All entries must have been published (print or online), broadcasted or have appeared in an agency dispatch for the first time between 11 March 2016 and 10 of March 2017. Only one item or one extract from a series of journalistic works (i.e. one article or one radio/ TV piece) can be entered.

Entries must have been published in one of five regions: Africa; the Arab World and the Middle East; Asia and the Pacific; Europe; Latin America and the Caribbean and can be submitted in any language, though if not in English, French or Spanish, a translation of the article or script into one of these languages is required.

Written stories (article, online piece, or blog) should be a maximum of 1000 words. There is no minimum length requirement.
Audio-visual work (TV and radio) should not be longer than 10 minutes.

Winners will be announced during an Award ceremony during the European Development Days in June 2017 in Brussels, Belgium.
There will be up to 12 winners: ten winners for the development and poverty eradication theme (five amateurs and five professionals) as well as two winners for the special prize on freedom of religion or belief. The 12 winners will receive a trophy and prize of €5 000. One of the 12 winners will also be awarded a Grand Prize for the best piece of journalism. The Grand Prize winner will receive in addition a trophy and €5 000.

The European Commission will cover the cost of the winners’ travel to the Award ceremony.

Deadline: 20 March 2017, 23:59:59 Central European Time (CET).
Find out more:


European Commission DG Development and Cooperation-EuropeAid
(+32) 02 299 11 11